Research Focus

The goal of Data Science is the extraction of knowledge from data. This goal mandates the use of methods based on a number of diverse theoretical fields, such as mathematics, statistics, information theory, signal processing, probability models, machine learning, data mining, database, data engineering, natural language processing, pattern recognition and learning, visualization, predictive analytics, data warehousing, data compression, and high performance computing. To successfully meet this challenge, research activities have been structured into the following four research areas:

  • Research Area 1: Multimodal Data Processing and Information Management
  • Research Area 2: Machine Learning and Data Mining Techniques
  • Research Area 3: Heterogeneous Computing and Advanced Cloud Services
  • Research Area 4: Multidisciplinary Data Intensive Applications

The list of Data Science Research Unit members for each Research Area is available here. The list of participating organizations is available here.

Scientific Advisory Board

The members of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Data Science Research Unit are the leading international Data Science experts:

  • Joao Gama (Associate Professor, University of Porto, Portugal)
  • Wolfgang Ketter (Full Professor, Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University, the Netherlands)
  • Mladen Kolar (Assistant Professor, University of Chicago Booth School of Business, USA)
  • Nada Lavrač (Jožef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana, Slovenia)
  • Marie-Francine Moens (Full Professor, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium)
  • Niranjan Nagarajan (A*STAR, Genome Institute of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Mladen A. Vouk (Full Professor, North Carolina State University, USA)

Industry Advisory Board

The memebers of the Industry Advisory Board are directors and board members of the leading Croatian companies, active in the field of Data Science as either solution providers or data science service customers:

  • Vedran Batoš (Board Member at Equidem)
  • Gordana Kovačević (CEO at Ericsson Nikola Tesla)
  • Mate Krpan (CEO at mStart)
  • Dražen Marković (CSO at NEOS)
  • Dražen Oreščanin (Board President at Poslovna inteligencija)
  • Ivo Pejaković (Information Security Director at Agrokor)
  • Anđelka Strajher (Board Chairman at Megatrend Business Solutions)
  • Marin Tadić (CEO at Oracle Croatia)
  • Ivan Vidaković (CEO at Microsoft Croatia)
  • Slavko Vidović (CEO at Infodom)